St Mary’s Annual Report and Meetings 2009


a) Annual Report of the Parochial Church Council, year to December 31st 2008

b) Fr Giles’ Homily at the Parish Mass before the Annual Meetings.

Summary of the Annual Meetings

The Annual Parochial Church Meetings took place at Noon on Sunday April 26th 2009, after the Parish Mass in the Church Hall. Full minutes and documentation from the meetings will be available in due course. Fr Giles was in the chair for all three meetings. Mr David Collinson, Secretary to the PCC, acted as clerk to the meetings.

Annual Meeting of Parishioners

The Annual Meeting of Parishioners meets to elect the churchwardens for the coming year. Those on the Electoral Roll of the Parish and those resident in the parish whose names are entered on a register of local government electors by reason of such residence are eligible to vote at this meeting.

Two nominations had been received for the office of churchwarden, Mr David Collinson and Mrs Patricia Royle. As there were no other nominations, they were declared to have been elected unopposed. They were thanked for their service in the past year and for their willingness to stand again. The Annual Meeting of Parishioners was then closed.

Annual Parochial Church Meeting

Members of the Electoral Roll of the parish and clergy licensed to the parish are eligible to vote at this meeting.

The meeting received a report on the membership of the Electoral Roll from Miss Valerie Southwood, Electoral Roll Officer, to the effect that taking into account addition and removal of names, the number on the Roll had increased from 107 to 108. She noted that a number of eligible people had not returned their forms in time for inclusion and the names of these and any others would be added to the Roll at the next full meeting of the Parochial Church Council (PCC). Miss Southwood was thanked for her work as Electoral Roll Officer.

The Annual Report and Accounts of the PCC for the year ended December 31st 2008 had been circulated in advance (on March 29th) to all members of the Electoral Roll; copies had been made available to non-members and in PDF format via the parish web site ( There were no questions or comments arising from the content of the report; it was proposed and seconded and accepted unanimously.

Those nominated for membership of the PCC were thanked for their willingness to serve, reminded that they must be eligible to act as a trustee of a charity and were elected en bloc unopposed. Mrs Phyllis Spiers had this year decided not to be nominated again as a member of the PCC and she was thanked for her many years of service both as member of the PCC and in former years as churchwarden.

The list of those nominated as sidesmen for the coming year were similarly elected en bloc unopposed. They were reminded that their duty is ‘to assist the churchwardens in the discharge of their duties’ (Canon E2) and thanked for their willingness to stand.

Mr Rob Marshall was reappointed unanimously as Independent Examiner and thanked in his absence for his help over the past year.

Fr Giles had no incumbent’s remarks to make in addition to the Annual Report and the content of his homily at the Parish Mass that preceded the meeting, which would shortly be made available on the Parish web site. No items for discussion by the PCC at its next meeting were raised by the meeting, which was then closed.

3) Meeting of the PCC

The PCC met immediately and elected Mr David Collinson as Vice-Chairman; Mr David Griffiths as Secretary; Mrs Joan Hooton as Treasurer; and Miss Valerie Southwood as Electoral Roll Officer. The composition of the PCC Standing Committee was agreed as the Incumbent, the Churchwardens, the PCC Secretary and the PCC Treasurer. Dates for the meetings of the PCC and its Standing Committee were agreed and circulated to its members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.